FIRS chair ignores Buhari’s directive, retires nine directors.

The Chairman of the Federal Inland Revenue Service, Muhammad Nami, has been accused of unlawful retirement of nine directors of the agency to pave the way for his allies.
Our correspondent was told that Nami relied on an old civil service rule, which had been suspended to remove the directors.
The PUNCH gathered that the government of late President Umaru Yar’Adua had instituted a civil service rule which made it compulsory for directors to retire after serving for eight years.
However, the regime of the President, Maj. Gen Muhammadu Buhari (retd), rescinded that directive.
According to new regulations, civil servants are to leave service after attaining the retirement age of 60 or spending 35 years in service.
A circular was said to have been issued to indicate the suspension of the earlier order.
A copy of the document, obtained by our correspondent and dated June 20, 2016, was also addressed to the FIRS.
“With reference to letter No. SH/COS/100/A/1462 dated June 17, 2016, I write to convey Mr. President’s directive that the tenure policy in the Federal Civil Service is suspended with immediate effect. This notice is for the attention of all concerned for compliance,” the letter, signed by a former Head of Service, Mrs Winifred Oyo-Ita, said.
The new regulation was reportedly upheld by the former Chairman of the FIRS, Mr Babatunde Fowler, as no director was retired as long as they had not crossed the retirement benchmark.
However, after Nami assumed office in November 2019, he was said to have instructed that directors who had served for eight years be retired.
Nine directors received retirement letters in March 2020.

The affected directors were Victor Ekundayo (Career and Skills Development); Mrs Kemi Odusanya (Facility); Emmanuel Obeta (Chairman’s Office); Chiaka Okoye (Programme Office Non-Tax); Mr Kola Okunola (ICT); Dr Asheik Maidugu (Planning and Statistics); Mr Innocent Ohagwa (Human Capital Development); Mr Ezra Zubair (Programmes and Policy Monitoring) and Mr Olufemi Faniyi (Team Lead Tax Operations Group).

Post a Comment